One year in my happy place…

Today, January 12, marks exactly one year of working at the library.

To be utterly cliche, I can’t believe how quickly a year has passed. I remember my first day vividly – I dressed entirely too professionally in gray trouser pants and a New York and Company sweater and spent an hour and a half trying to find 20 books to fill hold requests in our fiction section. Beforehand, I also tweeted this gem – one of my favorite scenes from one of my favorite shows…

I was pretty sure my job wouldn’t have me doing anything like that and thankfully I was right.

A little more than a month later I was able to fill a whole cart of requests in under an hour and by now I pretty much wear jeans every day (thankfully).

In 365 days I have learned so much. I felt like I had a pretty decent sense of what I was getting into when I first walked through the doors of my library but there was so much I didn’t know. I’ve gotten a deeper sense of all the different information needs I might encounter on a day-to-day basis. I’ve developed a better understanding of how to meet those needs and all the possible tools that might be available to help me. And I’ve learned how much I still don’t know. I’m trying to read as much as I can to provide better advisory to my patrons. I’m slowly getting into this blogging community, with all of its many experts with all of their excellent ideas.

Some days, being a librarian (or a para-librarian, as I suppose I technically am) can be thankless. Over this past Christmas break while at family parties, I had to explain several times that being a librarian is, in fact, a difficult job requiring skill and talent and not, as someone suggested, someone who “puts books on the shelves and takes them back off”- a task that is in and of itself slightly more challenging than it is credited. But, I have not as of yet tired of explaining what I really do to all who are truly interested because I love my job. I know that it is important to correct the misinformation. I know my job is important, and I am reminded of that each time I see the look of joy on someone’s face when I’ve helped them solve a problem.

I am looking forward to the upcoming year, one which will hopefully by the end see me enrolled in and taking classes in a graduate program!

One thought on “One year in my happy place…

  1. Susan Arnhold

    Thanks for sharing your story- brings me back to those many years of volunteering in my high school then my children’s school libraries. Enjoy and I look forward to reading more of your experiences and education.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

