Library Tourist in Atlanta

Once, when I was in high school, I was in the middle of a college tour when the guide stopped and announced: “Ok, now we’re going to the library. I know this is the most boring part of the tour so bear with me.”

Everyone else chuckled but I was disappointed. The library was my favorite part of any tour, in fact, one of the reasons I didn’t want to go to one university was the outdated vibe of its library. To me it was the symbol of the college experience, only slightly less important than the food quality and the dorms’ habitability. Lately, that interest has spread to public libraries, and I’ve been known to go out of my way to visit any library I pass while I’m in a new place (much to my boyfriend’s dissatisfaction.) I feel like sometimes visiting the local library can give you a clue to understanding the city and its community. (Not to mention that I like to be… “inspired” by the ideas I see at the places I visit.)

12792199_10154667636038289_7997289736650341533_o
My traveling companions and I. (The bear we met while traveling).

This past weekend, I took a 10-hour drive South with two of my college friends to visit Atlanta. Our main purpose was to spend time with our good friend who is now in a master’s program at Georgia Tech. However, I couldn’t resist taking some time to see the sights and, *of course*, drag my reluctant friends to the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library to get a feel for the system.

For the most part it looked like any other city library I’ve visited, a bit on the older side and full of people of all backgrounds working on computers. I liked that there were a lot of print resources on a huge variety of topics, ranging from dewey decimal numbers of popular topics to programming brochures to informational pamphlets. I know we’re in the digital age but print resources are still so vital to some and I was glad that there seemed to be a wide range of ways for patrons to get what they need.

I must say I was very impressed by the children’s and teen sections.The children’s section was gorgeous and I was envious of the enchanted forest theme at its entrance, as well as the extremely beautiful Dr. Seuss 3-D mural next to it. I was surprised to see a huge TV in their storytime room, but I imagine it comes in very handy for A/V incorporated storytimes as well as various other programs. They also advertised some seriously unique programming, most surprisingly, “Know Your Rights” for kids, which I thought was both an excellent programming idea and an important resource for both kids and adults, especially in a major city.

The teen section was the most impressive to me. It was truly adapted to the needs of modern teenagers who might visit the library, complete with a gaming section, couches, plenty of important informational resources, and even a guitar and bass for music lessons. I was lucky enough to be able to speak to the librarian on duty at the teen desk and he was able to give me a little insight as to how the teen section operates. I wasn’t surprised at all but I had to chuckle when he told me that they had certain hours in place for use of the teen zone so as to discourage truancy, since that’s a big issue for us here as well and it’s always funny to see how some problems are the same no matter where you go. I really appreciated the encouraging, welcoming nature of the space, all the way down to specific tables reserved solely for teens. They are a population that can sometimes be neglected and I was glad they had such a welcoming space to visit.

In all, it was a productive visit. Usually, I kind of wander aimlessly and awkwardly and leave, happy to be part of the atmosphere but not exactly sure what I’m looking for. I was proud of myself and saw it as a sign of personal growth that I engaged in meaningful conversation with the librarian there and I feel like I walked away with a better sense of what AFPL is all about.

2 thoughts on “Library Tourist in Atlanta

  1. ivikussmaul

    Wow! I’d love to visit this library today, even though our libraries over here are pretty good as well. We actually have libraries in every district, meaning there’s about twenty of them. Still, very impressed by a game centre! 😍

    Like

  2. Pingback: What can we do? – librasaurus rex

Leave a Reply

