LGBTQIA+ Books for any age

First of all, I wanted to apologize for this post being way late – I was very sick all day Monday and coming back to work on Tuesday (yesterday) proved to be pretty crazy, and then I got sick again on Thursday and it’s just been a crazy week.

Secondly, I wanted to give the briefest of introductions to this list. This is just a list of some of my personal favorite books that I have read that encourage diversity of opinion on sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression (three different concepts). I am doing this list primarily in honor of Pride Month, but also especially in honor of the 49 who lost their lives and the 50+ more who were injured this past weekend in Orlando. I have nothing to say about this horrible tragedy that hasn’t already been said by someone more qualified than myself, but I do think now more than ever we need more resources that promote inclusivity and tolerance, and this is my tiny contribution.

Without further ado…

Picture books:

 

  1. Worm Loves Worm by J.J. Austrian
  2. Tough Guys Have Feelings Too by Keith Negley
  3. Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress by Christine Baldacchino
  4. It’s Okay to Be Different by Todd Parr
  5. Red (A Crayon’s Story) by Michael Hall

Juvenile Fiction/YA Fiction

  1. Boy Meets Boy and Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Levithan
  2. Gracefully Grayson by Ami Polonsky
  3. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (not overtly queer, but I think it questions masculinity in interesting ways and the secondary character, Patrick, is gay. Also it’s one of my favorite books of all time so I had to include it.)
  4. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Adult

  1. Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel
  2. Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl by Carrie Brownstein
  3. Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
  4. The Color Purple  by Alice Walker
  5. Transgender History by Susan Stryker (non-fiction)
  6. Stone Butch Blues by Leslie Feinberg
  7. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

Let me know what I missed! I know there’s a ton more. 

Leave a Reply

