September Book Round-Up

Thank goodness for audiobooks! Thanks to them, I got through two books this month during my 40-minute-each-way daily commutes!

6892870

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Steig Larsson

I was absolutely addicted to this book and listened to the entire thing in just a few short days – fitting it in between classes and on long walks as well as during my drive. I know some didn’t love this installment of the series as much because it lacked the same amount of suspense and mystery – we all know what happened and who did it – and because the kick-butt protagonist Lisbeth Salander takes a bit of a backseat role for a lot of this book. But I loved seeing how all the final pieces got put together, culminating by wrapping everything up nicely in a satisfying but appropriate way. I also got some insight into how the Swedish judicial process works in comparison to my knowledge of the American system. All in all, this was an awesome series, and I’m glad I finally got around to reading it.

150709_sbr_coates-cover-crop-original-original

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

I talked about this in a previous blog post but it bears repeating: this book was wonderful. It’s not very long at all, it provides so much insight into what it might be like to grow up black in America, especially in the inner-city, and it really helps clarify some of the issues we fact today as a nation and get you thinking about some steps forward. As I mentioned above, I actually listened to this as an audiobook, which made it feel even more impactful, because it is such a personal tale made even more personal when you hear it in the author’s own voice. Just a great book, very deserving of the accolades it has received.

Books I am looking forward to this month:

I have been way too busy to really sit down and read anything, but I am going to try to listen to at least one audiobook during my commute. I currently have on hold and hope to soon get the book Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I also have ordered the book “Where Am I Now” by Mara Wilson because I couldn’t help myself. We’ll see if I end up actually getting to read it.

Leave a Reply

