Books I read based on a recommendation

Participating in The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday this week because that’s all I have the mental energy to do. You’ll notice I kind of cheated by making the Millenium series #8, 9 and 10. Sorry, not sorry about it. 😉 Once I get through the next few weeks of grad school craziness my posts will hopefully be a bit more intensive.

  1. Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
    This book was actually recommended by President Obama and also on an NPR segment so with that winning combination I couldn’t really pass it up! Overall I enjoyed it, though most of the plot has already left my recollection.
  2. How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
    This book was a recommendation from Emma Watson’s monthly book club. It was funny and overall a great feminist work, though I was uncomfortable with her portrayal of some LGBT issues.
  3. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson
    My former supervisor recommended this one to me and I was so glad she did. One of the funniest books I read (really, listened to) this year.
  4. Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman
    A hilarious, wonderful title recommended by a fellow blogger.
  5. The Alchemist by Paul Coehlo
    This one was recommended by a Buzzfeed article. Honestly, I was disappointed, and found it way too preachy.
  6. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
    This was recommended to me by my aunt, who was re-reading it for her book club. I really didn’t love it, and I think she actually ended up hating it too upon re-reading.
  7. Survivor by Chuck Palahniuk
    This one was indirectly recommended to me by the band Panic! At the Disco. I was a superfan in high school and after finding out that my favorite album was written based off this book, I had to read it. Palahniuk remains one of the most fascinating authors I’ve ever read.
  8. 9. and 10. The Millenium series by Steig Larsson
    This one was actually read to me way back in high school and I filed it away in the back of my mind until this year when I actually had a moment to read it – and it lived up to the hype!
One thought on “Books I read based on a recommendation

Leave a Reply

