Music to help you cope over the holidays

I’ve found that certain songs have really stuck with me recently as I have dealt with the aftermath of the election. I’m sure many of us are going to homes where the situation might be tense, and music has always been a coping mechanism for me, so I thought I would share a few songs in hopes that they might help someone else!

*I will note that while I think most of these songs have somewhat of a hopeful message in them, they also are intended to help relieve anger or frustration as well. Several of them are also explicit. For peppier songs, I would recommend one of Spotify’s excellent “mood” playlists!*

“We Will Fall Together” – Streetlight Manifesto

“So how will we fight? When all we have is logic and love on our side?

“Welcome to the Black Parade” – My Chemical Romance

“We’ll carry on, we’ll carry on, and though you’re broken and defeated, your memory will carry on.”

“Immigrants (We Get the Job Done)” – K’naan (from the Hamilton Mixtape)

I know this is cliche but I would probably just recommend the whole Hamilton soundtrack and mixtape 😉

(Open in Spotify)

“Let’s Not Sh*t Ourselves (To Love and To Be Loved)” – Bright Eyes

“How grateful I was then to be part of the mystery,
to love and to be loved. Let’s just hope that is enough.”

“Alright” – Kendrick Lamar

“Do you hear me, do you feel me, we gon’ be all right.”

Leave a Reply

